Home ยป Swiss lift most Covid-19 restrictions as infections decline, ET TravelWorld News, ET TravelWorld

Swiss lift most Covid-19 restrictions as infections decline, ET TravelWorld News, ET TravelWorld

by News Times USA

Swiss lift most Covid-19 restrictions as infections decline
Switzerland has become the latest European country to ease coronavirus restrictions, including ending health checks for incoming travellers from many countries and the need to have Covid-19 passes to enter many public venues.

The Federal Council, the seven-member Swiss executive branch, said as masks and Covid-19 vaccination passes will no longer be required to enter shops, restaurants, cultural venues and other public settings and events. The requirement to wear masks in workplaces and a work-from-home recommendation will also end, as will capacity limits on large-scale gatherings. The only requirements that will remain are an order for any person who tests positive to isolate and mandatory mask-wearing on public transportation and in health care institutions.

“The epidemiological situation continues to develop positively,” the government said. “Thanks to the high level of immunity among the population, it is unlikely that the health care system will be overburdened despite the continued high level of virus circulation.”

Canada will be allowing rapid antigen test for travellers instead of a molecular one. The government will monitor conditions with an eye on dropping coronavirus testing requirements for fully vaccinated Canadians who make short trips – less than 72 hours – abroad, usually to the United States, Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos said.

Health authorities in the country of about 8.5 million people reported more than 21,000 new daily Covid-19 cases and 10 new deaths. The trend has steadily fallen since a 7-day average of more than 36,000 cases a day was tallied in late January. Incoming travellers will no longer be required to provide proof of vaccination, recovery or a negative test, or complete an entry form. The measures also will mean an end to the government’s economic support for business hit hard by the pandemic.

These entry rules are applicable for the following countries:
Schengen States

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain

EU and smaller European countries and third countries and regions:

  • Andorra
  • Bahrain
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Kuwait
  • Macao
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican / Holy See

All countries and regions except those listed here, including India are currently considered high-risk countries and regions. Entry restrictions continue to apply to persons entering Switzerland from these countries.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Comment